LIVE / MSN BOT: Is sending me referral spam (form=QBHP)

Here we go again. The guys at MSN Live has restarted their campaign to send referral spam to all sites on the internet. The last “attack” took place in August 2007 (exposureonline.com), and from 8 June 2008 MSN is everywhere in my servers log files and traffic reports.

Alle MSN Live bot traffic is coming from the same IP range and all hits include the tag “form=QBHP”.

Follow the discussion at webmasterworld.com.

No one really understands the nature and purpose of this traffic from MSN Live. It doesn’t appear to be regular bots crawling popular sites.

Related posts:



2 Responses to LIVE / MSN BOT: Is sending me referral spam (form=QBHP) »»


Comments

  1. Comment by Rune Ensen | 2008/06/20 at 05:02:51

    Ganske enig. En fejl kan tilgives. Nummer to er ikke en fejl, men direkte dumhed. MSN vil altid sutte røv, og så er det lige meget, om de opkøber yahoo.

  2. Comment by halfdan | 2008/08/10 at 22:09:23

    Hey, I just wrote a small tool able to analyse these automated queries. I noticed that the keyword might be the one with the highest rank in search queries. E.g. I got the keyword “google” for a automated visited page where this keyword occured. Google is definetely a top keyword and most likely the top keyword for the content on that page.

    You can find the script here:
    http://c0demonkey.com/blog/4/LiveSearch_Analysis

    Hope it’s useful.


Leave a Reply »»